Is it a Penalty to prevent the opposite jammer from recovering the star?

If the red jammer looses the helmet cover with the star because of the normal flow of the game, can the blue blockers legally block the jammer to prevent the red jammer to recover the helmet cover or it would be a penalty?
I know that some referees consider this an unsporting conduct penalty, but I couldn’t find anything on the rules.

I don’t believe there’s anything in the rules to prevent you from legally blocking the Jammer and/or Pivot while they are attempting to recover the Star.

The opposing Skaters cannot control the Star however. If they were deliberately kicking it to move it, or standing on it to prevent it from being picked up, that’s where it’d start to rise into Unsporting Conduct to me.

3 Likes

It would also create issues since there is as far as I know no requirement for the jammer to immediately pick up the panty. If the opposing team were to stop blocking them, the jammer could potentially use this as an opportunity to break through. They couldn’t get lead and would then need to recover the panty on their scoring pass, but this would IMO be completely legal.

1 Like

Fundamentally - legal blocking is legal.

“The Jammer can’t get the star” is an impact, not an action.

As Twixxi pointed out, controlling the star is an illegal action.

But legal actions like normal blocking are allowed to have game impact. After all, that’s why you take them.

7 Likes